Big Budget Science

Knatz.com / Stories / Hierarchy vs Conviviality / School /
University, Grad School

Briefly, when I first arrived at NYU Graduate Arts & Science to matriculate full time, finish my masters and initiate my doctorate, I attended a tea where a dean gave a speech in favor of big universities, big departments, big budgets. Bigger is better. He justified big science. He argued that Faraday would have been better off with a budget, with a better lab, with understanding and helpful colleagues.

Maybe so, but what does that have to do with actual bureaucracies? No university gave Faraday a dime. What made NYU think it would have let him in the door? What made NYU think that it or Harvard or Cambridge or MIT could have provided Faraday with helpful peers?

But then Pollyanna needs no evidence.

Naturally, I kept my mouth shut. I had come to the big university to pay my dues, to put in my time, to wait humbly for permission to speak.

I paid plenty. I waited plenty. And my turn to speak never came. Or when it did, it was just subverted.

I’ve been saying all that for a long time (as I’d said it before attending NYU), but now I have some good quotes to add) (so good I’m embarrassed I didn’t know them sooner). See State Aid to Science, by Dr. Gertrude Kelly, from Benjamin Tucker’s Liberty.

Deschooling Quotes: Illich Deschooling Quotes: FLEX Deschooling Quotes: Since ’74

Hierarchy vs. Conviviality Stories

About pk

Seems to me that some modicum of honesty is requisite to intelligence. If we look in the mirror and see not kleptocrats but Christians, we’re still in the same old trouble.
This entry was posted in school. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

