Poems Quotes

Quotes / Poems /

God guard me from thoughts men think
In the mind alone.
He who sings a lasting song
Thinks in a marrow bone.

William Butler Yeats
A woman can be proud and stiff
When on Love intent
But love has pitched his mansion
In the place of excrement.
Nothing can be sole or whole
That has not been rent.

William Butler Yeats
… My salad days
When I was green in judgement, cold in blood

Shakespeare
Patience in the Monument
Smiling upon Grief

Shakespeare
Sigh no more, ladies, sigh no more,
Men were deceivers ever,
One foot in sea and one on shore,
To one thing constant never:
Then sigh not so, but let them go,
And be you blithe and bonny,
Converting all your sounds of woe
Into Hey nonny, nonny.

Shakespeare
Full fathom five thy father lies;
Of his bones are coral made;
Those are pearls that were his eyes:
Nothing of him that doth fade
But doth suffer a sea-change
Into something rich and strange.
Sea-nymphs hourly ring his knell
Ding-dong
Hark! now I hear them,
— Ding-dong, bell.

Shakespeare
I will not cease from Mental Fight,
Nor shall the Sword sleep in my hand:
Till we have built Jerusalem,
In England’s green & pleasant Land.

William Blake
For Mercy has a human heart,
Pity a human face,
And Love, the human form divine,
And Peace, the human dress.

William Blake
Cruelty has a Human Heart,
And Jealousy a Human Face,
Terror, the Human Form Divine,
And Secrecy, the Human Dress.

William Blake
To see a World in a Grain of Sand
And a Heaven in a Wild Flower,
Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand
And Eternity in an hour.

William Blake
A Robin Redbreast in a Cage
Puts all Heaven in a Rage.
A Dog starv’d at his Master’s Gate
Predicts the ruin of the State.

William Blake
Kick at the rocks, Sam Johnson,
Break your bones,
But cloudly, cloudy
Is the stuff of stones

Richard Wilbur

So many of my quotes come from my memory. The hell with the punctuation, but that is Wilbur, isn’t it? I’ll check a source as I can.

… Close your eyes with holy dread,
For he on honey-dew hath fed,
And drunk the milk of Paradise

Samuel Taylor Coleridge

That is so fabulous. I have to do it again, backing up a couple of lines:

I would build that dome in air,
That sunny dome ! those caves of ice !
And all who heard should see them there,
And all should cry, Beware ! Beware !
His flashing eyes, his floating hair !
Weave a circle round him thrice,
And close your eyes with holy dread,
For he on honey-dew hath fed,
And drunk the milk of Paradise.
stars rain sun moon
(and only the snow can begin to explain
How children are apt to forget to remember
With up so floating many bells down)

ee cummings

as usual, from memory: I’ll check it all one day

Song, you teach us, is beyond achievable desire,
it is rather the sheer reality of immanent being:
simplicity itself for deity.

Rilke

A Folk Sampling

I went up in a balloon so big
The people on earth
They looked like a pig

At shooting birds I am a beaut
There is no bird I cannot shoot
In the eye, in the ear
in the teeth, in the fingers.

O, what can you do in a case like that?
What can you do, but stamp on your hat
And your toothbrush, and your grandmother
And everything that’s helpless.

Collected by Carl Sandberg
The year’s at the spring 
And day’s at the morn; 
Morning’s at seven; 
The hillside’s dew-pearled; 
The lark’s on the wing; 
The snail’s on the thorn: 
God’s in His heaven— 
All’s right with the world!

Browning

2013 07 30 Just read that beloved poem to Jan last night, had just used it in a post, told Jan of its context in Browning’s play: and was reminded of something I’ve forgotten as the years pile up: look at the rime scheme! Not aabb, not abab; no, abcd abcd! Marbelous.

Jenny kissed me when we met,
Jumping from the chair she sat in;
Time, you thief, who love to get
Sweets into your list, put that in!
Say I’m weary, say I’m sad,
Say that health and wealth have missed me,
Say I’m growing old, but add,
Jenny kissed me.

Leigh Hunt

Bravo for me, I just tried to remember those lines before looking them up: I got it mostly right, all but “sweets into your list.”
More and more dries up as you age, but not everything altogether.


The poems and lyrics above represent favorites certainly, but merely those I happened to be thinking of while also thinking of this file. One day I’ll sit down and fill in … some more Shakespeare lyrics at the very least.
One of these days my Lomax collection will come into my hand and I’ll quote some of the tall-talking Woodie Guthrie, whose prose can be every bit as good as his lyrics.


2005 11 01 I just typed in that cummings quote, and seconds later Hunt’s “Jenny kissed me” and Hardy’s “I pitched my day’s leasings” queued up. Where’s the Donne? Where’s the Chaucer? K. should have been started when I was ten, not fifty-some-odd.

2015 12 03 A headline about the difficulties of “peace” between Israel and Palestine sparked more Yeats to gush from my memory:

Out of Ireland we are come.
Ancient hatred, little room,
maimed us from the start.
I carry from my mother’s womb
A fanatic heart.

strictly memory, unedited

I don’t quote nearly as much poetry at Knatz.com as I used to have daily in my mind in my past life, and I don’t intend to gather many of those poems I do quote here among these largely expository utterances. But: there [were] at least a few such at Knatz.com.

Quotes

About pk

Seems to me that some modicum of honesty is requisite to intelligence. If we look in the mirror and see not kleptocrats but Christians, we’re still in the same old trouble.
This entry was posted in quotes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

