Quotes: M

bkMarcus has his own module of quotes here:

Correct the referee: then the player.

John McEnroe

I never liked McEnroe, thought he was bad for the game, thought he should have been smacked, was blinded to his excellence; but I do love that anti-authoritarian sentiment.

No God, no country, no “society.” Just people and things, and people one by one.

Ken Macleod

Elections are completely undemocratic, they’re down right antidemocratic. Everybody knows that!

Ken Macleod

Without a doubt, the most effective method by which the state creates a mystique is through control of education. The evolution of compulsory state-controlled schooling reads like a history of political maneuvering, in which the goal of teaching children literacy skills plays a minor role. Public education is by no means inept or disordered as it is made out to be. It is an ice-cold, superb machine designed to perform one very important job. The problem is not that public schools do not work well, but rather that they do. The first goal and primary function of schools is not to educate good people, but good citizens. It is the function which we normally label state indoctrination.

Wendy McElroy

Show me a nation possessed of a large navy, and I will show you a nation always at war.

Samuel McKee

An expert is one who never makes small mistakes in his progress toward the grand fallacy.

Marshall McLuhan

Electronics repealed the Bill of Rights.

Marshall McLuhan

My life has been a path at the edge of uncertainty.

Francis Mallmann
If you don’t know this guy, correct that, this instant.

You don’t grow on a secure path..

Francis Mallmann

Liberty doesn’t always have clean hands.

André Malraux

But the state lies in all languages of good and evil; and whatever it says, it lies – and whatever it has, it has stolen.

Frederick Mann

Psychology is the study of the secrets a person keeps from himself.

Leo Marks

Race is a fairy tale that the kingdom cannot function without .

Marsalis family

Work out results mathematically, then convert them to ordinary language; if the second step is impossible, burn the mathematics.

Alfred Marshal, on economic theory

I was married by a judge. I should have asked for a jury.

Groucho Marx

Humans in society: playthings of alien forces

Karl Marx

HL Mencken has his own quotes module here.

It is only by exploring the extremes that we learn to locate the center.

Yehudi Menuhin

Change often begins at the margin.

Jack Miles

I loved the navy and I loved submarines. In the military career I chose, it becomes very clear early on, perhaps for good reason, that the best way to get ahead is to stay with the pack. I guess, during my career, I steered a course a bit too much my own. It’s happened in the other services, too. When an officer with initiative and imagination leaves the middle of the road, he’s bound to have trouble. His superiors gets set in their ways, indifferent or even hostile to new ideas. Sometimes it’s just because they didn’t think of them themselves. Often when I presented a new proposal, I was made to feel like a felon committing a crime and ended up not only having to defend the idea, but myself for daring to bring it up. But it did happen — too rarely maybe — to have someone up the line say: ‘That sounds good. Let’s do it.’ I like to think that the situation is much improved.

Swede Momsen
on the many rebuffs and slights he’d suffered in his naval career

Any weapon you use in a war leaves some bill to be settled in peace.

C. E. Montague

Although one had to die for one’s country, one was not obliged to lie for it.

Montesquieu

The fish rots from the head down.

Michael Moore (applying the saying to the US under Bush in Iraq)

I owe the public nothing.

J Pierpont Morgan

Let me see if I understand your thesis: you think we shouldn’t anthropomorphize people?

Sidney Morgenbesser to B. F. Skinner

Like most men, I wanted a war I could go down shooting in. Not this useless confusion of blood and innocence.

Walter Mosley

Quotes Menus

About pk

Seems to me that some modicum of honesty is requisite to intelligence. If we look in the mirror and see not kleptocrats but Christians, we’re still in the same old trouble.
This entry was posted in quotes. Bookmark the permalink.