Favorites Holding Bin

To date my Favorites folders have featured posts on a particular poem, actor, song, novel … Today I want to post a mere fragment of a story, developing it into a post some other time: so I create this post to gather such previews:

Ed Lauter
K. had a story about spending a New Years Eve at Eddie Lauter’s house in Hollywood, 1974 or so. I’ll get around to resurrecting that module before long, I hope, but right now I’m watching the movie Cujo and marvelling at Ed Lauter’s performance as the red neck mechanic, a Steven King’s Maine version of James Dickey’s Deliverance. God, he’s good. And I appreciate his art the more now that I remember him running up and down the basketball court when my highschool played our arch rivals, Oceanside: and running up and down the football field, knocking our heroes aside.

Eye Worm
Several of my posts cite ear worms. I’m currently haunted by Richard Rogers’ songs from Carousel, If I Loved You in particular. And every day I explore this that and the other art form: movies, limericks … I’m in the midst of watching a doc on German artist Gerhard Richter. Wonderful stuff, I’m seeing lots of images I hadn’t known before, when suddenly I encounter a whole different style: and one bores straight into my memory, permanently I presure, an eye worm!

Gerhard Richter
Betty

About pk

Seems to me that some modicum of honesty is requisite to intelligence. If we look in the mirror and see not kleptocrats but Christians, we’re still in the same old trouble.
This entry was posted in art, chat, favorites, pk Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

