Symbolic Inheritance

I’ve been inviting the public to help me help it organize things, think things, communicate things for a long time, especially since I founded FLEX in 1970. The public ignored me but that’s the public’s doing, not mine. I’ve been inviting the public to help me think out-loud online about this and that since starting K. around 1995. Again I got very little feedback. And of course vested interests sabotage my attempts: all reformers get sabotaged, or at least experience sabotage attempts. We won’t know the real facts till Judgment: if there’s no Judgment, or if the god is a phony, then we’ll never know what really happens, certainly can’t trust the kleptocracy (and why should we know any truth? a dishonest, not very bright species, run by and for the thieves, trying to control perceptions?)

Anyway, here’s another. Today I announce the subject, promising to think about it. Post your thoughts as comments, write your own blog post, but please, send the URL here.

The Lone Ranger wears a mask. I’ve known that all my life. But why? He’s not an outlaw, why disguise himself?

It’s hard to think about inherited symbols. It’s hard to think about inherited conventions.

Lone Ranger

Let’s think out loud about this.

I just wrote my son and his family:

The Lone Ranger is coming, time to “think” about symbols, hard to think about inherited conventions and inherited symbols.
I “understand” why Superman has a secret identity, I understand why Batman has a SI, why Batman wears a costume, a mask …

But why does the Lone Ranger wear a mask?

I’ll also ask this at pKnatz: just STARTing to stew on it.

I’ll add other questions:
The Lone Ranger has a hidden income, from his hidden silver mine: how come he’s not sitting at his desk eighteen hours a day administering his business?
How come any cartoon vigilante wears a costume with a mask?

Jesus, a god coming as a human, is masked: by a mortal body.

But even just with superheroes, be careful: the tradition is older than it may first appear, and runs deep. Scarlet Pimpernel, etc.

Scarlet Pimpernel
thanx pinimg

An action hero pretends to be a fop,
a liberal pretends to be a conservative …

And it isn’t just males …

Incredibles

Symbolic Inheritance
Symbolic Fudge
Sgt. Pepper Symbols

Social Epistemology

About pk

Seems to me that some modicum of honesty is requisite to intelligence. If we look in the mirror and see not kleptocrats but Christians, we’re still in the same old trouble.
This entry was posted in pk Teaching, sentience semiotics, social epistemology, society. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

