pk Pollution

I just wrote,

People don’t want to know that they don’t know what they don’t know.

Well, that’s familiar enough: pk is always writing things like that, has been for decades, half a century, more.

Ah, but this time I wrote it at a blog I launched a couple of years ago, swearing to keep it nice. Uncontroversial.

Here’s what happened. The Sebring YMCA called me in a membersip drive, invited me over, showed me around: exercise rooms, exercise classes … I said, “Thanks, no, no, not for me; but I’ll tell you what I think …” The guy went pale thinking I was about to fault his presentation. I said, “No, no. Here’s the thing. You don’t want me as a customer, you should want me as a resource. Give me one of these exercise rooms, a CD player, and I’ll teach your people line dancing. Leave the door open, people will hear, people will see, people will join in …”
Damn if the guy doesn’t introduce me to Dave, the program director. A few weeks pass. Dave calls me: got it, one hour a week, we’ll pay you $15.
Like maybe 40 people show up for the first class. Several of those people knew me as the line dance teacher at Highlands Senior Social. Nancy was there, and my enemy, Barbara Hester.
Barbara stormed out: she may well not have realized that I was the teacher, it was I who’d organized the class, suggested it to the Y.

Barbara has been sabotaging me for years. More story links from that link. Barbara I see as the type of American white Christian who would instigate the men to lynch the n-, to crucify the healer, to make sure that free speech means that the woman you’re accusing of witchcraft can’t get a word in edgewise, that no serious truth can be established among the kleptocrats …
[Bowdlerizing K., 2016 08 02 To me a syncopated word is even more offensive than the straight vulgar term.]

No one at HSC knew who I was. They didn’t know I’d offered an internet in 1970, to use cybernetics, volunteered public funding, from the public, not from the government! to deregulate information, remove the political gatekeeper. Any coercive centralized society will always have a gatekeeper. pk followed Illich: publish all information, don’t try to edit it. The coercive hierarchy, the state, with its licenses, its schools, its managed markets, its mislabeling of everything, knocked me down.

Finally, even my wife abandoned me, kidnapped our kid, with whom, for all his genius, I have never had a mutually clear conversation on the subject.

So: my class at the Y dwindles, but a core come and have a great time: until the pollution seems to reach even them.
Dave cancelled the class around Easter, said see you in November: but, stole my class CDs, never called, never answered my calls.

The Jews talked about how God loves them, then crucified Jesus. Was anything at his trial accurate? No: Neither Romans nor Jews wanted anything to be accurate.
I offer freedom to kleptocrats. No, no. They knock me down, the same as they’d been doing for a decade with my reading of Shakespeare: refused to understand any part of it, made sure I couldn’t explain, interrupted me, undercut, got me fired, no matter what.

So now, all I’m trying to teach is line dancing. The fed has destroyed my business, on top of having destroyed my life: now I get cut off from my $15 a week income!
Worse, the $15 caused waves of trouble for my food stamps: the guy can’t eat without food stamps, now the guy earns $15 a week, so he don’t need no food stamps!

Does Barbara know what she’s doing, why she’s doing it? Does she know who I am?
Does she believe in God? Would she understand any of this if you nailed her down and had the faculty of Harvard try to explain?

No. See, the faculty of Harvard couldn’t explain because they don’t understand either. Won’t listen. Shed facts where the facts are unflattering.

It’s not me alone who troubles the waters of my line dance blog. What a shame.

Stories by Age

About pk

Seems to me that some modicum of honesty is requisite to intelligence. If we look in the mirror and see not kleptocrats but Christians, we’re still in the same old trouble.
This entry was posted in pk, pk Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

