Leading Ladies

/ Movies /

We so love the movies, we love the great heroes, the alphas, the leading men: Bogie, ‘Coop … I even like some of the current ones, especially seeing some of them age well.

And the women, Jesus! Lillian Gish wasn’t the first or only.

Once upon a time I’d used a string of stars as my “Eve,” my symbol of DNA perfection: fuck that one, the mother of the future. I responded to Elizabeth Taylor when I was young, she was young too, though not as young as me: I responded to her when she was old, and now that I’m old … Jeanne Moreau, Jane Fonda, Julia Roberts … And I also eventually responded to some beauties who made me puke when they were just getting noticed,

Jessica Lange
thanx cineplex
(there! I deliberately choose an image where she’s not young!
but man is she beautiful!

eventually may make me feel holy, immortal, part of a great chain of being.
Or, she‘s part of the chain; I’m just a bystander, but I see!

Think of your own examples, you don’t need mine. Though I just browsed a current pic of Jennifer Aniston looking much like Sissy Spacek once looked: cute, but on the ordinary side of cute. God, they get under your skin.

Well, everybody sees movies with Jennifer (this, that, or the other Jennifer): with Natalie Portman … blah, blah. I got to celebrate a couple of beauties I just saw that I hadn’t seen in half a century:

Antonina Shuranova
thanx cinerusia.

Antonina Shuranova. Jeez, I don’t think I’d seen her since the eight hour War and Peace from 1966.
She reminds me of Buster Keaton. Her beauty is dead pan, ordinary-looking. I am absolutely in love.
I was watching the Soviet biopic on Tchaikovsky, she plays his patron (whom he never meets in the flesh).
I wish I had a screen capture for where she’s preparing to meet him, has sent him a mash note; he doesn’t show up. We see her seeing herself in the mirror: tons of money, and no Tchaikovsky.
Ah, but in the same movie, there’s Maya Plisetskaya! I hadn’t seen her, hadn’t heard of her, since I saw Plisetskaya Dances in the ’60s! Zowie.

Maya Plisetskaya
thanx medici

She was in lots of documentaries, I can’t say which specific one I saw, half a century ago.

Well, whom I celebrate may change from day to day, so too with any of us. Yesterday I was all obsessed with Antonina Shuranova, with the Soviet realism of that biopic, with Russian music, with thoughts of recent re-readings of Tolstoy, of Gogol, of Turgenev … But then I slip in a different movie: now I’ll watch Russell Crowe, I adore Russell Crowe; but here I get:

elizabeth banks
Elizabeth Banks!
thanx diszine

Google some images, disregard the plethora where she looks like a whore, check out the ones where she looks like a great wife and mother! for a great Russell Crowe!

I gotta tell you, I just love being able to tell stories that refer to a half-century ago! where it’s clear that I was an adult then! How can anyone possibly take seriously any age younger than seventy-five? Goethe touted the 80s: maybe I’ll revise my statement in another decade.

2013 10 22 I’ve been prattling about Liz Taylor: added a comment relating Scarlett Johansson. Talking about fannies, Liz’s … Last night’s exposure to Scarlett Johansson takes the cake: The Island.

Scarlett Johansson, Island

This is the kind of trash science fiction I loved in the seventh, eighth grades: utopia reveals itself to be a factory for evil. Scarlett goes very well on the screen with Ewan McGregor. They do a lot of running, looking great: especially her, with that face, that figure. The outfit here is displayed as gleaming white in most instances.The camera grants the eager audience many a low view of those Johansson buttocks, stretching. My oh, my: couldn’t possibly get enough of that.
I want to mention one thing: once part way escaped, our couple gets down and dirty, covered with slime and grime. Those cute Gernsbach-utopia outfits are no longer gleaming white. Except for Scarlett’s behind. Her ass winks at us as pristine, sanitary, desirable: in all circumstances.

2017 02 04
Some actresses get under your skin more than once, some for a few years. Some actors for a few decades. Not many actresses bewitch you for several decades. Jennifer Aniston is one.
I sit down to watch Wild, Reese Witherspoon. I’ve loved her since she straddled girlhood / childhood in Man in the Moon.

Man in the Moon
thanx Mr.Movie

There’s an annoying coming attraction on this Cake DVC, then another. Then one has me mesmerized: Jennifer Aniston, by God, looking like hell, looking like a great actress: !!
When she was young how pretty she was, hiding those depths. But now … !!
Apropos of Cake: I disliked the movie, I disliked the character; but I love Roose Witherspoon. From girlhood to middle age, I love her.
That ain’t easy, or common, to love the actress but hate the character. Shouldn’t Trump have that character arrested?

Movies

About pk

Seems to me that some modicum of honesty is requisite to intelligence. If we look in the mirror and see not kleptocrats but Christians, we’re still in the same old trouble.
This entry was posted in movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

