For & Against

Recreating (and advancing) pk’s censored domains: Macroinformation.org & Knatz.com / Personal / Chat /
@ K. 2001 09 13

I am for liberty ; I am against coercion.

I posted this the day after 9 / 11 / 01. The original issued a baker’s half-dozen precepts. I’d thought I’d add, and add; in fact, a decade and a half later, I’m only just getting around to restoring that original after the fed’s censorship of 2007.
But now, 2015 06 25 and so on, I may resume authoring.

I am for commons ; I am against property.
I am for learning ; I am against education.

Let ourselves, our environments, our talents, and our interests determine what we learn; not some kleptocratic committee deciding what we are to be subjected to. Persuasion is compatible with deschooling, not coercion.

I am against schools ; I am for networks.
I am against government ; I am for organization.
I am against law ; I am for order.
I am against civilzation
kleptocracy
; I am for civilization
culture.

That is, I am for civilization as deep culture, provided it’s, in Illich’s phrase, convivial.
(The word “civilization” is etymologically derived from “city” and the builders of cities became the most dangerous kleptocrats. Arthur C. Clarke said “One of the greatest tragedies in human history was the hi-jacking of morality by religion.” I second that judgment but add that similarly tragic was the hi-jacking of the convivial benefits of culture by kleptocracy. When I want to get rid of civilization I have no intention of sacrificing art: not music, not literature, not manners, not cooking.)

Again:

I am for convivial society ; I am against regimentation.

I launched a similar, parallel module in the mid to late 1990s: a wish list: political, theo-cosmological; not personal: context, deschool, decentralizing.

2015 06 25 Thanks to WordPress I have a place to try to recreate Knatz.com but I do not appreciate the freedom WP exercises in rewiting and sabotaging my HTML: especially in tables, like these.

Chat

About pk

Seems to me that some modicum of honesty is requisite to intelligence. If we look in the mirror and see not kleptocrats but Christians, we’re still in the same old trouble.
This entry was posted in chat, favorites and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

