O’Hairy Morality

Knatz.com / Teaching / Society / Social Epistemology / Cosmology / Religion /

I’m loving the biopic I’m watching on Madalyn Murray O’Hair.

I wouldn’t spit in your ass if your guts were on fire.

Mme Atheist addressing the kidnapper who’s holding her for ransom
(while Christian society looks the other way).

I’m hating my memory of a letter I wrote Madalyn Murray O’Hair in the 1960s: wise-ass pk took the stance that she was deeply religious, as am I, but with slightly difference semantics. Now I apologize to one- and-all, especially to her, for what I now believe were wrong spiritual and political tactics: everyone understood what she meant; no one understands what I meant. (That could all change, could all reverse (or alter to some other torque) but I’m not holding my breathe.

(I’m paused in her movie where she’s about to take on the Plege of Allegiance’s “under God”. I remember the grade school we were compelled to attend addressing that issue when I was in the 4th grade or so: the pledge had not had that provision; the school added in in my childhood, I was part of the alteration.) I want to point out please that I’d been brainwashed to believe that worshipping God was a good thing, then that freedom of religion, and freedom of speech, were good things. I was part of the preposterous attempt by churches and by schools to pretend that they believed both, respected both, had both. Madalyn Murray O’Hair’s life shows us as clearly as any behavor from Senator Macarthy that we don’t know what words mean, what actions mean, what politics and religion is about.

The Christians send her shit smears in the mail, throw rocks, run away: don’t take responsibility for their sabotages.

Why, when Nazis parade, do the “majority” so successfully remain silent, don’t expose the egregious pretenses, allow the hypocrites their hypocrisy?
O’Hair is vulgar, confrontational: but by their behavior it’s the Christians who are the immoral atheists, O”Hair the hyper-moral “Christian”. But of course it’s the hypocrites who firmly control the majority: the Christians don’t speak up, neither does God.

But should God really have to? Isn’t it all obvious? Which one’s the Christian? the guy on the cross? or the felons who put him there?

Religion Menu

About pk

Seems to me that some modicum of honesty is requisite to intelligence. If we look in the mirror and see not kleptocrats but Christians, we’re still in the same old trouble.
This entry was posted in religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

